All the Way from Finland

All the Way from Finland

All the Way from Finland

My Ottobre Design patterns arrived today! I was actually quite shocked as most people said that took about 6-8 weeks to get from Finland to the U.S. for non-subscribers. I ordered just about 3 weeks ago and they told me it would ship in about 3 weeks. The “magazine” comes out quarterly for their children’s patterns and twice yearly for their woman’s patterns. The patterns are rather redundant in each year and magazine, so I just picked two of my favorites and will improvise when I feel like it. I usually sew without patterns anyways. The only reason I like using patterns sometimes is it just helps me size, proportion and to cut things correctly. I almost never use the assembly directions since I’m so used to making things up as I go. There are 2-3 other magazines that I will probably get at some point.

Each “magazine” has about 30-40 various patterns, from baby all the way through preteens. I got 2 magazines for 21,10 EUR with shipping. (They don’t charge shipping to their subscribers). I got the Spring 2008 (1/2008), which was one of their most popular, so it was no longer available in English… so I got in German, smart idea I’m sure. I also got the Summer 2008 (3/2008), which was apparently not as popular and available in English still.

Spring (R) and Summer (L) 2008

Spring (R) and Summer (L) 2008

The patterns now, require their own post. It took a bit of studying in my German mag only to discover they explain how to use them in my English one. I’ll post about that later as it is slightly involved and takes a lot of explaining. But in case your wondering, here is what they look like. Warning: be prepared for your eyes to bug out of your head, you also may feel a bit dizzy.

One Full Page

One Full Page

Up Close and Personal

Up Close and Personal

There are three double-sided pages per magazine, but still, I think I’d be willing to pay a bit more for a bit more separation. I’m thinking little dyslexic me may have trouble tracing them. Thankfully, I keep some non-dyslexic friends around.

Leave a Reply

