Stash Interview

Over at SMS, they are doing stash interviews. So here is mine. I know I just posted stash pictures, but it’s recently grown and been slightly rearranged.

What do you usually sew?

Really anything and everything. I started out with small stuff, lots of applique, but I’ve grown to bigger things now. I do a lot of children’s clothes, but I’ve recently discovered lots of great tutes for adult stuff, and I’ve also bought some patterns for me. I plan on sewing most of my clothes for summer. I also hope to conquer a quilt this summer.

When you shop for fabric, what size cuts do you usually buy? (i.e. If you see something beautiful, but you don’t have a use for it right away, how much do you buy?)

If I really, really, love it, and I think it’s something that I’m going to use a lot, and might not be able to get again, I usually buy 1-2 yards (depending on the price sometimes). If I love it and it’s on clearance, I buy the rest of the bolt. I’ve only happened on this twice, but I got over 2 yards both times for about $4. If it’s something I like, but don’t totally love, I’ll buy a half a yard. If I begin to fall in love with it, I might go back later and buy more.

Do you buy on impulse or do you go out looking for something you need?

Well kind of both. Often I’m shopping for something when I’m looking at fabrics, and some how, mysteriously, lots of other fabrics end up in my cart.

Are you a pre-washer? If you are, do you wash your fabric before you need it, or only when you’re ready to use it?

Nope not really, I probably should be though. I usually tag most my items with a “wash cold, cool heat dry, or air dry,” to prevent them from shrinking. I’m a bit of a impulse sewer, so I don’t usually want to wait for a pre-wash and I never feel like washing them when I get them.

Do you iron it?

I only iron during the sewing process. It’s a bit of a pain to lug the ironing board down a long flight of stairs, so it’s a only when necessary type thing. I should probably get a ironing board down there for myself.

How do you sort it? (color, print size, collection, etc.)

Yardage size right now, as it helps when choosing fabric for a project to know approximately how much you have of that. I don’t really have enough to also sort it by color, but if I eventually do, I’ll also do that.My fat quarters and larger scraps and sorted by color in plastic bins.

Do you have any special folding techniques?

I do, and I just learned it recently too. I use this method. It’s very quick and easy.

How do you store your fabric?

It’s all on a shelf right now. And my fat quarters and larger scraps are in plastic bins.

What tips do you have for building up a well-rounded stash?

Um, haha no not really. Other than try and be sure to add solids as they come in handy a lot, as well as be sure you have both multi color prints, two color prints, and small and large prints. I’m not one to really say try and buy all different colors as I feel if you love the color, your going to use it more.

When do you say enough is enough?

When the money runs out and I can’t buy gas anymore. No, just kidding. I try to limit myself to no more than about $20 worth of fabric a month, and that can roll over. For example, I just bought like $50 worth of fabric, but I hadn’t really bought much since Christmas, and had depleted a lot of my stash then. I’ll keep growing my stash as long as I keep sewing.

What are some of your favorite stash-busting projects?

Um, Christmas gifts for everyone. Haha that’s a really good one. If I can figure out the whole quilting thing, that will probably be one too.

Do you have a current favorite print in your stash? Let’s see it!

At this point, I really like my whole stash. I don’t think I could pick just one.

What’s your definition of the perfect stash?

Having every fabric you have ever wanted. Not possible to obtain I’m sure, but one can dream.

Here’s a stash picture! On the left are the half-yards and under with solids on the botton. On the right are the half-yard and over.

Stash as of 3/17/09

Stash as of 3/17/09

One thought on “Stash Interview

  1. Pingback: I love cloth! «

Leave a Reply

