Busy Weekend and Gifts

Sorry I’ve been MIA over the weekend. Classes ended for me on Wednesday, and I was busy catching up with friends and finishing up sewing gifts for this weekend. Thursday I was busy shopping for fabrics, and then babysitting in the evening. Friday, I went out to lunch with my friend Allie from high school. She’s been going to school in FL and I’m so happy this is her last semester so I can have her back. And Friday, Tommy and I went out for sushi with my friend Megan from school and her boyfriend, Parker. I love hanging out with them, we always have lots of fun.

Saturday was SL’s (little boy I nanny for) birthday. I gave a skirt to E as well, since her birthday was in the beginning of Sept when I had just started working for them. At Christmas they just got book because I didn’t have time to do homemade gifts like I usually do, so this was their turn.

I made playsilks for both of them. SL loves dragging my wraps around so I figured he would enjoy them, and I know E would love them too. I completely cheated with these. In all the project craziness, I forgot to order the silks from Darma, and JoAnns didn’t even carry anything that was 100% silk. So I couldn’t dye them with the usual kool-aid or food coloring methods and I didn’t feel like breaking out the real dyes. So I just bough colored silk-like fabric and hemmed it. I think they will still have fun with them. I put them in a Chinese take out box instead of wrapping them.

Playsilks

Playsilks

All rolled up

All rolled up

Take-out anyone?

Take-out anyone?

For SL, I made a set of bean bags that spelled his name (and a heart to make 10) and a little bag/basket to hold them. He’s gotten into throwing things lately, so that’s how I got the idea. Thank heavens I had some boy-ish looking fabrics in the 5×5 squares from the square swap. I was quite pressed for time and it helped not to have to cut some.

Letter side

Letter side

Fabric side

Fabric side

In the bag

In the bag

And lastly, E’s skirt. She was looking throw the huge pile of gifts when she spotted mine and noticed that tag had her name on it. Thrilled she went running to Mandi, who let her open it, and she put it on right away without even bothering to take of her jeans. She also insisted on wearing it yesterday to SL’s baptism.

It’s a stripwork skirt, and I added a ruffler under it. I’m not sure I’d add the ruffler again, but it still turned out quite cute. If you would like to make one, there are quite a few tutorials listed in my tutorial guide.

E and her skirt

E and her skirt

And lastly, one of the beautiful family altogether.

The P Family

The P Family

I promise I’ll post an updated stash picture too, to go with my stash interview. My area looks like a fabric bomb went off, so I need to go clean that up.

One thought on “Busy Weekend and Gifts

Leave a Reply

