I’m Back!!!

Miss me?
Sorry I’ve been a bit MIA lately, I see some people have still been checking in.

The end of the semester got a bit wild (wild in the paper and project overload sense, not partying). I was swamped beyond belief. But I made it and finished last Thursday! I was a bit worried about grade and figured my 3 year run on the Dean’s List would be over, but I’m not sure what I was so worried about considering I came out with 4 A-‘s and a B. (The B was a bit uncalled for, it was really just because this teacher likes to screw people over.)

The end of the semester was a bittersweet though. It started with saying goodbye to the kids at my internship and then everyone in my cohort. I was very sad to say goodbye to the kids at my internship (be looking for pictures on my teaching blog, coming soon) . Although they have caused my blood pressure to rise the moment they walked through the door, I loved them. It took me about 15 minutes to get out of the room on my last day and it was filled with lots of hugs and even a few tears. Then came saying goodbye to everyone in my cohort on Thursday. For the most part, we will see each other again, and a few of us will be in Level II together. But after you have been with the same people for 15 weeks, everyday, and been through so much together, it’s a little bittersweet to say goodbye.

I was trilled to welcome summer, though. I look forward to having the time to work on my photography and develop it more and possibly work on the possibly of a business from it. I’ll be watching the kids I have nannied for full time, plus one, so they should give me lots of practice time. I also look forward to getting back together with that Brother of mine and seeing what he really can do. I got loads of pretty fabric waiting. I also look forward to catching up with friends, spending some quality time with Tommy, and just soaking up the sun! I got lost in Amazon last night, looking up and making a list of all the books I want to read this summer. Ah, the sound of pleasure reading!

On another note, it looks like my grandfather is very close to the end. He has been up in Maryland for a couple months now, and we have really seen a decline in him since then. He is 90, and we have been seeing a drastic decline in his health since last year anyways. Really what it comes down to is his body is failing, and he has given up. This is my mom’s last living parent (my grandmother died 11 years ago) and this is going to be very hard. Tommy and I went to see him today, and I’m not going to lie, it was hard to see him like that. We ended up not staying very long, mostly because I was pretty sure I just might burst into tears at any moment. I’m trying to stay strong though as I’m my mother’s right hand (wo)man and I know she needs me. When he does pass, they will need to head back down to Richmond, and I’ll be holding down fort here until the funeral, when I will make the trek down myself. It won’t be too different as I was preparing to hold down the fort next week since my parents were planning on being out of town.

I split photography off this blog and to another one. In the end this with probably become my “everyday life” blog, and then I will have the teaching, crafting/sewing, and photography blog. Yeah, a lot of blogs, but for some reason I like things all separate and organized (although the current state of my room may beg to differ). The main reason I split photography is because it’s possibly becoming more of a business for me, and I’d like to have a separate, pre-established blog to go with it.

I think that’s about it! Be checking back as I have lots of great posts planned, the tutorial list should be getting an update, and I have some cool creations to show you all! Happy Summer!

Leave a Reply

