Wanna know about my sewing machine?

Don’t lie, you know you do!

I’m joining in over at Sew, Mama, Sew! (even though I’m not a mama) and participating in their Sewing Machine Meme for Sewing Machine month! So get ready to hear all about my machine!

What brand and model do you have?

I have the Brother SE-350.

How long have you had it?

I got it at the end of February for my birthday. So um, I’m not so good at math, but that’s like, 4 months.

How much does that machine cost (approximately)?

My family got it for me off of Amazon.com where it runs for about $380, but the retail price is around $500-$600.

What types of things do you sew (i.e. quilting, clothing, handbags, home dec projects, etc.)?

Mostly clothing and accessories, like purses and such. I hope to try my hand at quilting this summer though.

How much do you sew? How much wear and tear does the machine get?

Well during the holiday season, my machine will run 8-12 hours a day sometimes. But this machine has yet to go through that yet, so I’ll have to come back and let y’all know. But it seems like it will make it through just fine!

Do you like/love/hate your machine? Are you ambivalent? Passionate? Does she have a name?

I love my machine! It’s great! I had to look up the what ambivalent meant (stupid dyslexia) and now that I know… no, not yet at least. And um, passionate, not yet either. Name? No. I’ve had my car for 3 years and still haven’t thought of a name for it. So get back to me in a few years about a name.

What features does your machine have that work well for you?

I love the ability it has to do embroidery/monogramming and all the fancy stitches it has built in. I really haven’t had the time to fully explore all it’s possibilities, mostly because there are so many. But I love having the ability to add the little extras that make people “wow” over your work.

I also love the easiness of threading the machine, the drop in bobbin as well as the alert when it’s running low, and the overall ease of using it. That is, once you read the manual.

Is there anything that drives you nuts about your machine?

So far it doesn’t seem to be able to handle bulk very well. I think my old Kenmore did better with it. Other than that though, it’s been great so far. Wait, wait, another thing. I’m constantly having to pull out the manual. Because it does so much, I’m always double checking setting and presser foots and needles and such. It’s so complex compared to the Kenmore. It’s got a real learning curve!

Do you have a great story to share about your machine (i.e., Found it under the Christmas tree? Dropped it on the kitchen floor? Sewed your fingernail to your zipper?, Got it from your Great Grandma?, etc.!)? We want to hear it!

Actually I do! It was a complete surprise from my family, and my boyfriend and his family for my 21st birthday. Now not every 21 year old would want that for their birthday, but they obviously aren’t as cool as me.

I had been browsing sewing machines on Amazon one day in November or so, and came across the SE-350 and went “that’s it!” My dear boyfriend remembered that and when my birthday rolled around, “surprise!” My parents actually went to the extent to have it shipped to a neighbors so in case I would be home when it was delivered.

I did start suspecting a little bit when I opened a book about machine embroidery and then the PED software.

Would you recommend the machine to others? Why?

Yes! Absolutely! It’s a great machine for someone who wants a bit more out of a sewing machine. It sews so nicely, has tons of built in stitches, it will take me years to use all of them. But I love having the ability to just pop the embroidery unit on and customize something for someone. It’s so versatile and I think that’s what makes it so great. This machine will probably be my main machine till it dies, which I think will be quite a while from now.

What factors do you think are important to consider when looking for a new machine?

I think it’s really important to consider what type of sewing you like to do, or want to do and how much you will be sewing. For someone who is new to sewing, it’s probably a good idea to pick a simple, but durable machine. You don’t want a complicated machine when your already having to concentrate so much on what your sewing, but you also don’t want a really cheap machine, because you’ll spend most of your time fighting with it. Also, consider what type of sewing you want to do. If you want to quilt, then a machine made for quilters would probably be a better choice. Me, I don’t quilt, so I wouldn’t bother looking at them.

Do you have a dream machine?

I own it! I really can’t imagine wanting too much more. The only thing I’d also like is a serger. But I’ve can’t afford to get one now, so I haven’t bothered looking at them.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Now I can’t complete this without giving a shout out to my old, faithful, Kenmore that was my grandmothers. My mom sewed many a dresses for my siblings and I on that old machine and it’s made it through my Christmas-madness, insane, sewing  sessions (say that 5 times fast). It’s so durable and for the most part, runs great. But I can’t lie, I have shed some tears of frustration over that machine though.When I need to do some heavy duty, utility type sewing though, it’s the machine I plan to pull out!

Happy Sewing!

3 thoughts on “Wanna know about my sewing machine?

  1. Pingback: Sew,Mama,Sew! Blog » » Sewing Machine Master List

  2. Pingback: Friend Makin’ Monday – Can’t live without it! «

Leave a Reply

