Olivia’s Quilt

I’ve been wanting to try my hand at quilting.

But honestly I was scared too.

Until I stumbled upon this quilt along here.

I was too late to join in, way to late.  But I still knew I wanted to try it.

It didn’t look so complicated, or scary after all.

When Tommy’s sister announced she was pregnant, I knew it was time to give it a shot.

Baby quilts are small.

I figured it best I start small.

I gave you a sneak peak here.

And here was the final result!

I’m pleased with the results.

Okay, that’s a lie.

I’m really pleased.

It wasn’t as scary as I thought it was going to be.

Originally, I had planned to make the topper and send it off to be quilted, but when I researched the cost and considered it, I decided to give it a try myself.

Boy, am I glad I decided to start small.

It took about 3 hours for me to free motion quilt a 33″x44″ quilt.

The rest, making the topper and hand sewing the binding, took and additional 6 or so hours.

The backing ended being a vintage sheet of my grandparents.

And in my rush to get it out, I forgot to get better pictures.

I need to work on that.

I have enough squares to make another one, this exact size.

Since it has many of my favorite fabrics in it, I plan on making one for myself.

Just a little lap quilt.

If you would like to make one yourself, Dana’s tutorial is here. Just start at the bottom and work your way up.

7 thoughts on “Olivia’s Quilt

  1. Thanks for including the link in your comment so I could check out your quilt. It came out great! Did you do this on your own with the tutorial help?? I think I am so far from that…I wish I could because I am paying my teacher by the hour and that is going to get expensive, but hopefully once I learn, I can do the next one on my own or with much less help!

    Thanks for sharing

    KT

  2. That is ADORABLE. I absolutely love those colors! I’ve got a quilt in the making…but I need to finish. I’ve come to the quilting part, and then binding. To be honest, I’m dreading it a little, because it’s about 45″ x 60″ and that’s a lot of binding. But the quilting part shouldn’t be too bad. I should blog about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

