B90 Update 1

Today is day 7 of the Bible in 90 Days Challenge. I actually haven’t read yet today as I normally      read in the evening right before bed. I usually try to read before I go to sleep, so I’ve just replaced my usual library book or photography magazine with the Bible.

I’ve actually been amazed at how easy it has been to keep up. So far it really hasn’t felt like a challenge. I’ve really, really liked reading this way, huge chunks at a time, because suddenly it feels like a story. Which has made it easier to understand and connect the flow of events and thoughts.

I’m also noticing people and events I hadn’t before. There are always those stories and sections that we read over and over, but I think there are a few chapters/sections that I’m not sure I’ve ever read before. I feel like at the end of this I’m going to have a much better complete overview of the Bible.

Some really random things I’ve noticed:

  • I had forgotten how long people lived back in the beginning. Gosh, 900+ years is a really, really long time. I can’t even begin to imagine what living that long must have felt like. Of course that was also normal then, so it probably didn’t feel any different than someone living to 90 years.
  • I had forgotten that Moses was originally resistant to what God wanted him to do. Even flat out telling him to choose someone else (Ex. 4:13).
  • I had never read about Rachel stealing her father’s gods and then sitting on them and claiming she could not get up because she had her period. For some reason that one must get skipped over in Sunday School, but what a classic, womanly excuse that still gets used thousands of years later in one form or another.
  • Everyone knows the 10 Commandments, but I don’t think much attention has ever been given to the laws given right afterwords. I knew they were there, but had never paid much attention myself. I’m not really sure what to say other than they are an interesting read.
  • I found the instructions God gives Moses to build the Tabernacle a good reminder that God cares about the little things. Probably a little random, but he just didn’t say, “hey, go build a Tabernacle.” He told him exactly how to do it.

I do feel like I need some sort of commentary to go with these readings as sometimes I find myself sitting there scratching my head. I’ll have to do a little more research into that for next year.

I also need to see if I can track down a complete copy of the Bible in a MP3 format so I can put it on my iPod. When school starts back, I’ll be spending 2 hours of time in the car driving to my school for student teaching, and I’ve been trying to figure out how to productively spend that time. So far I’ve come up with nothing, so if you know of any free copies of the complete Bible, preferably either NIV or ESV, please let me know.

Are you doing the challenge? How is it going for you?

*Photo by hyperscholar.

2 thoughts on “B90 Update 1

  1. Totally with you on noticing other details. The bigger chunks of reading are a lot easier to connect thoughts.

    Good luck with your student teaching!! I just finished mine in December and it is so much fun. I miss the kids so much!

Leave a Reply

