Whichever comes first

My boyfriend seems to be convinced that at 21, his youth is quickly fleeting.

I’m not entirely sure why he feels this way, although it could have something to do with the fact that he’s been dating a certain someone for almost 5 years and certain people keep mentioning the “M” word to him.

I, of course, know nothing about this.

Ahem… moving right along.

In his desperation, he seems to be trying to do everything he’s ever wanted to do, that he’s convinced he can’t do once married.

Or when he grows up.

Whichever comes first.

Step one went something like, “buy a motorcycle and scare girlfriend.” Not that I’m actually scared of motorcycles, or him being on one (I actually think he’s a safer driver on a motorcycle than in a car), it’s more of the fact that I’m scared of all the other drivers out there. I have this healthy, or unhealthy, depending on how you look at it, fear thanks to a father who used to work in shock trauma and likes to tell me stories.

He’ll be flying to Costa Rica in a few weeks to embark on a surfing adventure for 11 days. It will be the first time in over 4 years where we have no had contact with each other for more than a couple days. I’m still now sure how I feel about this whole thing.

He’s currently taking sailing lessons, baiting deer in his backyard to kill with a spear (yes, I said a spear), and mentioned to me last night he wants to sign up for scuba diving lessons.

I’m beyond curious to know what else he’ll come up with next.

But until he decides he’s tried it all, or grown up, whichever comes first, I’ll sit and think about all the reasons I love him.

And pray for patience.

Or lose my mind.

Whichever comes first.

One thought on “Whichever comes first

  1. I can’t believe my mother is going to let him kill a deer in the back yard with a spear. I’m going to have to talk to her about this. :o)

Leave a Reply

