Eye Make-up Remover Wipes

First, let me just say how much I love Pinterest. If you aren’t a member, please feel free to contact me and I’ll send you an invite. It seriously makes doing and planning almost any and everything easy. I find myself searching Pinterest more than Google now days if I want to know how to do or make something. Yeah, it’s that amazing.

Anyways, about a month ago I stumbled upon an awesome tutorial for making wipes. I also saw some tutorials for making eye make-up remover and kind of morphed them to my own-ish recipe. My favorite part – it’s cheap, of course! There is nothing I love more than something that used to be expensive for cheap. The fact that it’s pretty natural too helps too.

Eye Make-Up Remover Wipes

Roll of paper towls

Large sealable container (the 7 cup round container from Ziploc works)

Coconut Oil

Soap of Choice (I used tear-free baby soap, but this will probably change next batch)

2 c. Water

Cut your paper towels in half, using a sharp, non-serrated knife. It does require a little elbow grease, so you might want to delegate this to a strong boyfriend, husband, or son if you have them available. I cut it myself, it just required some effort and patience.  Place the paper towels in your container.

Measure out your 2 cups of water in a measuring cup. Add to that your (melted) coconut oil and soap. I used approximately 2 tbsp. of coconut oil and about 1/2 tbsp. of soap. So far so good, but I might experiment a little in the future. (That’s just what you wanted to hear in a recipe isn’t it.) Mix well and slowly pour over your paper towels. Then smash the container lid on (unless you have a container that actually fits the roll completely). Flip back and forth slowly a few times and let it all soak in. Open it up, pull out the cardboard center, and pull the paper towels from the center. Voila! You just saved yourself tons ‘o’ money! 

So far, so good. I do find that it requires a little bit more effort that what I was using previously, but not enough to make me go back to buying eye make-up remover. I find that gently wiping my lashes first and then the rest of my eye before washing my face works best. It does remove my water-proof mascara too.

As far as cost, gosh it’s hard to break down, but I’m going to assume it’s probably not much more than $1 for the whole container. My roll of paper towels had 154 sheets, so that’s not even a penny a wipe.

Test it out and let me know what you think! I just made some antibacterial wipes today, so I’ll share that recipe after I test it a little.

Update: I’m still on my first container, and yes, I still like them. However since posting this, I’m become more aware of the harmful chemicals in products, like the tear-free baby shampoo I used in this recipe. I haven’t quite figured out an good alternative to this. I’m trying to stick with all-natural ingredients so if you have a suggestion let me know. It’s up to you if you’d still like to use this recipe, but if you’d like an alternative, here is a recipe for a liquid version

4 thoughts on “Eye Make-up Remover Wipes

  1. Pingback: Easy, Cheap, and All-Natural Eye Make-up Remover |

  2. Hi, I just made some and used some Clinique facial soap that I already had on hand from one of those free gift sets. I just realized the back of the 7 day scrub said, “keep away from eye area”, oh well it’s diluted in water with cocunut oil maybe it won’t be so bad. Sure as hell is cheaper to make this than to buy liquid remover or those costly wipes. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

